ARC Review: Diamond City

“My sky and yours are not the same. Let me touch my sky.”

Rating: 4/5 stars
Format: e-ARC
Release Date: January 28, 2020

Thank you Wednesday Books for sending me an e-ARC in exchange for a honest review!


Synopsis

41721210Good things don’t happen to girls who come from nothing…unless they risk everything.

Fierce and ambitious, Aina Solís as sharp as her blade and as mysterious as the blood magic she protects. After the murder of her parents, Aina takes a job as an assassin to survive and finds a new family in those like her: the unwanted and forgotten.

Her boss is brutal and cold, with a questionable sense of morality, but he provides a place for people with nowhere else to go. And makes sure they stay there.

DIAMOND CITY: built by magic, ruled by tyrants, and in desperate need of saving. It is a world full of dark forces and hidden agendas, old rivalries and lethal new enemies.

To claim a future for herself in a world that doesn’t want her to survive, Aina will have to win a game of murder and conspiracy—and risk losing everything


The Verdict

This right here was a bloody good time! And when I say bloody I mean it because there was so much murder. Initially, I won’t lie, the first thing that drew me into this book was the cover but then I read the synopsis and was so on board I couldn’t wait to dive into this. Now that I’m done, I am DYING for the next book. Seriously, send help. The author does a fantastic job of immediately throwing you into the story full speed ahead and keeps you on your toes from start to finish. Diamond City is a story filled with murder, doing what it takes to survive, love, friendship, and what will hopefully(?) become an amazing story of revenge in the next installment!

The first thing I loved about this book was the world, it has a very industrial/steam punk feel to it and I was totally living for it. The world is also separated by a religion where those who believe have to go into underground tunnels and practice their faith in hiding at the risk of being caught and imprisoned. Next up on the list of things I loved, we have Aina. Our MC is a girl who watched her parents be murdered in front of her and later on is saved and trained to be an assassin by her boss, Kohl Pavel. One of my favorite things about Aina is that she really doesn’t give murdering people a second thought, which some might find concerning (and the fact that I said that). But it was really wild to have a character be the frontrunner of a story who wouldn’t think twice about slitting your throat before, during, or after the act. She’s overcome a lot in this story from watching her parents die, to being homeless, kicking a drug addiction, and being “saved” by her boss, which all adds up to creating so much depth to her character.

As for what else I loved, there’s a group of side characters helping Aina on her assassination missions that are great additions to this story. There’s a large emphasis on friendship, helping your friends heal, and realizing your worth throughout the entirety of this story. Which also goes hand in hand with learning to acknowledge that sometimes the people who we look up to in life and love are the toxic ones that bring us down. There are soooo many plot twists in this story, and honestly, this book just went in a direction so different than I expected and I’m here for it. And then we get to the end and it does such a nice job of tying things together, but leaving just enough threats and promises that you need the next book STAT. Oh, and did I mention there’s murder? Like, a lot of it.

Looking back on it, you can see there’s this pretty huge emphasis on the magic system but when it comes down to it we really don’t get to see much if it. So, if I have one complaint about this book (and it’s not even really a complaint), it’s that I would have liked to see more of it. Whether it be characters using magic, seeking out more people who use magic to help Aina accomplish her goals, or even just more of an explanation to it. Here’s to hoping we’ll get to see more of it in the next book. Luckily, with the way this ended I’m thinking there’s going to be a very good possibility of that!

Favorite Quotes

“Sometimes, the lack of anything made people appreciate everything.”

“It didn’t seem possible that something so terrible could have happened and not changed the way the whole world looked, smelled, sounded.”

“You can only pull the trigger so many times before your fingers get tired.”

“He’d promised her the world, he’d promised she’d never fall again – and then he’d removed the world from under her feet so all she could do was fall.”

All in all, I really adored this book and cannot wait until the next book comes out. For readers who enjoyed Six of Crows or Celaena’s early assassin days in the Throne of Glass series I think there are a lot of elements that will make you enjoy this. In no way am I comparing these books to Diamond City, but just more of a “if you enjoyed that, you might like this” type of deal.

tw: murder, drug use/addiction, violence, death of a parent

Happy reading,

img_4150

5 thoughts on “ARC Review: Diamond City

  1. I read this recently, too, and oh my gosh, I felt the same way! I came for all the stabby murder vibes, and I was NOT disappointed lol. I’m really interested in what the author will do with the second book. There were lots of things in this that I just didn’t expect. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s